jump to navigation

Welcome to My Kitchen Table! September 3, 2008

Posted by Kate Ryan in National Politics.
trackback

When I was a child, all the important issues of the day were discussed at our kitchen table.  When dinner was finished, Pat & Al would have their coffee, light their Winstons, and encourage all of us kids to talk about what was happening in our lives, our schools, our neighborhood, and our world.  And whenever we had company – they were entertained at the kitchen table – and great discussions of philosophy, politics, religion, and life took place.  It was a great way to grow up.  From the time we were very young, we were able to share our opinions and listen to others’.  

Families don’t gather so much for dinner together and communicate like this anymore.  Even I, now that I am older, have not been able to carry on this tradition in my own home.  While my husband and I talk issues all the time, our 17 year old daughter is less than interested.  We’re working on that!  I started this blog to express my “kitchen table” thoughts.   I encourage you all to let me know your thoughts as well.  There’s plenty going on in the country and the world, so let’s get started………

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

